One of my IP's has been listed on the Spam Cannibal DNSBL, apparently because they consider my PTR (host-203-98-84-115.dynamicinternet.com.au) to be too generic.
What the ...?
I'm really getting sick of these trumped up, wanna-be's and their capricious reasonings!
I ended up on another RBL recently because the word "dynamic" appeared in my hostname - boy did I have words with them. (To their credit, they removed me immediately once I blasted them)
But Spam Cannibal won't even consider removing anyone once they've made the decision to list them.
They contradict themselves on their web site as to the reasons they list IPs.
Their home page says "The ONLY way you can get into SpamCannibal's database is by sending spam or virus ladened email to our mail servers!"
But when you dig a little further into the situation they say "Your host is in a spammy netblock and has a missing, generic, or identical (non-unique) PTR record. These IP's are NOT eligible for removal until provisioned with a distinguishing PTR record. This is the most common reason for refusal of removal requests. Don't waste time requesting removal of IP's with generic or missing PTR records. Provide a distinguishing PTR record or configure your mail host to use your ISP's smart relay."
The IP in question only runs one domain, which hosts my WHMCS installation, I certainly have never sent spam from it and it is not in a "spammy netblock", because the adjacent IP (203.98.84.114) isn't listed.
My only consolation is that very few people use this ridiculous RBL and most of the people who will be receiving mail from this IP are our own customers who's email we host anyway so the effect of being listed is negligible, but man this sort of nazi-ish, non-cooperative attitude gets me frustrated.
Thank you for letting me vent
